Friend us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! Join our email list!
AHA improves the health and well-being of Wake County residents by facilitating and supporting community initiatives.

Are You an Environmental Champion?

EnvironmentalAwardsArtworkThe City of Raleigh is now accpeting nominations for the 2013 Environmental Awards. The deadline to submit nominations is Feb. 15, 2013.

The City established the Environmental Awards to recognize the outstanding work in environmental stewardship. The program recognizes individuals and organizations that have demonstrated a commitment to the environment in the community. Environmental Awards are given in the following 12 categories:

  • Environmental Awareness (Leadership or Teaching) — demonstrated leadership or teaching others about the environment;
  • Green Design (Built Environment) — stormwater, recycling, sedimentation and erosion controls, construction debris reuse, energy innovation, ecological footprint;
  • Institutional Innovation — honors a government entity that has been innovative in environmental stewardship;
  • Legacy — lifelong contribution to the environment by a person or an organization;
  • Market Transformation — manufacturers, retailers, or marketers who promote products, services and choices that lessen the impact on the environment and health;
  • Natural Resource Conservation — water, wastewater, reuse water, residuals and biosolids, air quality, stormwater;
  • Pioneering Efforts — in any environmental area;
  • Regional Award — air quality, Neuse River basin or other regional issues;
  • Urban Stewardship — a volunteer individual or organization engaged in community building or conservation;
  • WaterWise Landscaping — reduction of turfed areas and use of drought tolerate and native plants in gardens or landscaping. The best residential and non-residential garden or landscape will be recognized;
  • Student Awards — Two categories: Youth Award will recognize a student who has demonstrated environmental stewardship. The award may be given to more than one person or group. Also, Emerging Professional Award (PSA competition) recognizes a video or public service announcement that raises awareness of efficient water use. This award is open to students at local colleges, universities and technical schools; and,
  • Raleigh Environmental Stewardship Award is an overall award for an individual or organization that has shown leadership in sustainable development.

To be eligible for consideration for the Environmental Awards, nominees must either be residents of or operate within the City of Raleigh or within the City’s extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ) or its utility service area. Elected officials are not eligible while they are serving in public office.

AHA Updates

Donate Today

aha toolkit button






Contact Us: