Friend us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! Join our email list!
AHA fosters and supports community efforts to make healthy eating and physical activity the way of life in Wake County.

Thank Legislators for Bill on School Playgrounds Available to Public

The NC Senate passed SB 315: School Playgrounds Available to Public, which offers schools the opportunity to open their grounds to public use when not being used by the school or other groups that have an existing agreement to use the property. The House version of the bill (HB 539) passed out of one committee, and will be heard in one more committee before going to the full House for a vote. This bill is moving quickly and is likely to pass soon.

Contact Legislators with Thanks

Take this opportunity to thank the sponsors and co-sponsors for their support of legislation that builds healthy communities. Feel free to adapt this “thank you” note:

Thank you for your support of S315/H539 – School Playgrounds Available for Public Use. This bill will give schools permission to open their property to families in communities to play after school or on weekends, which will provide yet another opportunity for our citizens to enjoy active lifestyles. As a health advocate, this is important to me and my community.

Again, thank you for your support of this exciting initiative to open schools to community use.

Sponsors:

Senator Louis Pate, Louis.Pate@ncleg.net
Senator Jerry Tillman, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net
Senator Terry Van Duyn, Terry.VanDuyn@ncleg.net
Rep. Rob Bryan, Rob.Bryan@ncleg.net
Rep. John Bradford III, John.Bradford@ncleg.net
Rep. Brian Brown, Brian.Brown@ncleg.net
Rep. John Sozka, John.Sozka@ncleg.net

Co-sponsors

Senator Ralph Hise, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net
Senator Brent Jackson, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net
Senator Ronald Rabin, Ronald.Rabin@ncleg.net
Senator Norman Sanderson, Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net
Senator Erica Smith-Ingram, Erica.Smith-Ingram@ncleg.net
Rep. Becky Carney, Becky.Carney@ncleg.net
Rep. Tricia Ann Cotham, Tricia.Cotham@ncleg.net
Rep. Jean Farmer-Butterfield, Jean.Farmer-Butterfield@ncleg.net
Rep. Rosa Gill, Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net
Rep. Susi Hamilton, Susi.Hamilton@ncleg.net
Rep. Edward Haynes Jr., Edward.Haynes@ncleg.net
Rep. Ralph Johnson, Ralph.Johnson@ncleg.net
Rep. Bert Jones, Bert.Jones@ncleg.net
Rep. Paul Luebke, Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net
Rep. Garland Pierce, Garland.Pierce@ncleg.net
Rep. Larry Pittman, Larry.Pittman@ncleg.net
Rep. Bobbie Richardson, Bobbie.Richardson@ncleg.net
Rep. Michael Speciale, Michael.Speciale@ncleg.net
Rep. Michael Wray, Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

AHA Updates
AHA Welcomes 4 New Board Members
September 22, 2016 [Thursday]

Moving Wake County Forward with Transit
September 13, 2016 [Tuesday]

AHA Partners as Storytellers
September 12, 2016 [Monday]

Celebrate 20 Years of Walk to School Day on October 5
September 6, 2016 [Tuesday]

Donate Today

aha toolkit button

0_3000eps10

 

 

 

 


Contact Us: info@AdvocatesForHealthInAction.org
SITE DESIGN BY RALEIGH WEB DESIGN